Smart Shipping Awards: Winners Honored for Innovation in Maritime Technology

09 November 2023
Smart Shipping Awards: Winners Honored for Innovation in Maritime Technology

SAFETY4SEA and EUROPORT celebrated the winners of the 2023 SMART4SEA - EUROPORT Awards on Thursday, recognizing excellence and innovation in maritime technology towards a smarter and more sustainable shipping industry.


METIS received the Smart Shipping Award for its METIS SHaPoLi solution, which helps operators meet EEXI requirements while ensuring full engine power availability. CYDOME won the Cyber Security Award for its wide range of advanced cybersecurity solutions designed to protect maritime assets from cybercrime. Radio Holland Group B.V. took home the E-Navigation Award for its voyage planner application, digital library, and electronic logbook. ORCA AI was honored with the Technology Award for its SeaPod, a fully automated navigational assistant that improves situational awareness, reduces workload and fatigue, and minimizes human error. And Kongsberg Maritime was awarded the Autonomous Shipping Award for its leadership in autonomous shipping development and delivery.

The awards were presented at a prestigious ceremony on the sidelines of EUROPORT, and winners were selected based on a combination of open nomination and voting by industry stakeholders.

These awards celebrate the ingenuity and dedication of maritime technology leaders who are working to make shipping smarter, safer, and more sustainable. As the industry embraces digitalization, these technologies are essential for long-term growth and resilience.

The SMART4SEA - EUROPORT Awards are a testament to the progress that is being made in maritime technology. These awards celebrate the innovators who are driving the industry forward and helping to create a smarter, safer, and more sustainable future for shipping.